Homemade Milano Cookies

My family and I love Pepperidge Farm milano cookies, so when I found a recipe for a homemade version I knew I had to try making them. The dough is piped onto cookie sheets with a pastry bag, which of course meant I made a complete mess, but despite some deformities I consider them a success.

Homemade Milano Cookies (taken from Sunny Side Up in San Diego and altered slightly)

  • 3/4 cup Country Crock Light butter spread
  • 2 1/2 cups powdered sugar
  • 7/8 cup egg whites (from about 6 eggs)
  • 2 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

For chocolate ganache filling

  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 8 oz semi-sweet chocolate
(This left me with a lot of extra ganache, but as I’ll mention later, that’s not necessarily a bad thing.)

Preheat oven to 350 F. Line a cookie sheet with either a silpat baking sheet or parchment paper. (As the original recipe notes, a silicon baking sheet results in smoother cookies, while the parchment paper tended to wrinkle and create misshapen cookies.)

Mix butter and powdered sugar. Gradually beat in the egg whites and vanilla. Add flour and mix just until combined. It should look like thick cake batter.

Fill a pastry bag with the dough. Pipe the dough onto the prepared cookie sheet in 2-inch long sections, 2 inches apart. Aim to create sections a bit larger/thicker than a tootsie roll. You don’t want to pipe the dough too thinly, because you’ll end up with super skinny cookies.

Bake for 10 minutes or until the edges of the cookies just start to turn golden brown. Let cool on the cookie sheet. Once cool, carefully remove the cookies from the cookie sheet and match them up by similar size and shape.

To make the chocolate ganache filling, scald the heavy cream (bring to a boil) in a sauce pan. Place the chocolate in a bowl. Pour the hot cream over the chocolate and stir until smooth. Allow to cool slightly.

Using a spoon, spread the chocolate over the smooth (bottom) side of one cookie. Carefully place the matching cookie on top of the chocolate and gently press down. Place back on cookie sheet and allow to set for about 30 minutes (they’ll set faster if you chill them).

As I mentioned before, I ended up with a lot of extra deliciously chocolatey ganache. I first used it to create half-dipped cookies from my milano rejects, and then searched my kitchen for other things to dip in it, including cashews and marshmallows.

I think my favorite spontaneous creation was the pretzel sticks, which I dipped in the leftover ganache and then covered with toffee bits and christmas tree shaped sprinkles.

And then, like any good cookie fairy, I wrapped up my sweet treats for sharing!

Leave a comment

Thoughts?

